Spidey’s Serene Sunday – Part 374 – New Beginnings

img_00411

“Every moment is a fresh beginning.” 

T.S. Elliott

Time to keep it calm and positive this week, eh Spidey! Especially after last week’s Asda fiasco!

Today I am using one of my children’s experiences to reflect on for the day.

Now, as most of you know, Lil Man is an avid cricketer, and all he has wanted to do, over the last few years is excel at what he loves the most. He spends time every day outside, practicing bowling, and batting where he can, taking on the tips of the coaches he encounters, to perfect his Leftie Spin bowling.

He was with one particular club for the first part of his cricketing career, and though he had matches and training, he never felt as if he was being pushed in the right way. Overlooked for games he should have been playing, and this was noticed by a good few of the other club members.

When he was selected to play for district cricket last year, he was over the moon, and it was suggested that a club change might be better for him, to a place where he gets pushed and is able to showcase his talents to the right people.

The house move meant that this was a viable option, which we took on, and this year the boy has been training with a club which is generally playing in Premier and First division games and boasts a good number of county players already.

He’s been really focussing on his training, and we have been supporting him in every way we can, even when he does something crazy like split his bat in half when he played a cracking shot in training a few weeks ago! (New bat was delivered, all knocked in, yesterday, phew!)

And the last couple of weeks, he has been playing some friendly games ahead of the season start. Initially, we were told he would probably be in the Sunday Development team, for the lads who are working well, but not quite at the main team levels, but he was selected for the third team this week, and for a moment was even considered for the seconds, too. (Well done, son!)

And guess who he was playing this week? His old team! He was a little worried about facing them, and the possibility of a bit of a backlash because he left them, but it was actually a joy to see how happy they were to see him!

Okay, so they lost, but with a very close score, and he bowled well, getting two wickets as well!

He sits and beats himself up, convinced that he’s the reason they lose, but cricket is a team sport, and he didn’t even get a chance to bat. And, no, he didn’t give away loads of runs, which is what he is convinced of.

But, what he doesn’t realise is that the club are already recognising his raw talents, considering they were ready to play him in the second team, today!

Working on making him realise that every day is a new beginning, every match is a new start, and that this new club will be amazing for him.

So, what advice would give a youngster who can’t see his own successes because he clouds over at the smallest of what he thinks are failures?

namaste

Wishing you a wonderfully peaceful Sunday, Peeps!

#SoCS – May 7 2022 – Phrases I Grew Up With

Linda’s SoCS prompt

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “a phrase you grew up with.” Include in your post a phrase your mom/dad/grandparent/sibling used all the time when you were growing up, or just write whatever inspires you based on that phrase. Enjoy!

Coming from such a colourful background with where my family originates, culturally, as well as the locations they have lived, it means that there have been plenty of different phrases in a multitude of languages that have been used regularly. We have Punjabi phrases, English phrases, as well as Swahili ones since that is where my parents were born and brought up.

One of my favourites is most definitely Hakuna Matata, which is the Swahili phrase made famous by Disney with the release of The Lion King. It means no problem – a phrase used regularly in Kenya, where folk are so laid back they are practically horizontal!

A phrase bandied about a lot in my childhood as nothing was ever a problem. No matter what the issue, Hakuna Matata! It will get sorted out, don’t worry, just chill out! And I was even happier when the film came out and other friends of mine were suddnely aware of a language once foreign to them, and now a common phrase!

In Punjabi, Gadha, or Gadhe da Putar was another funny one. Gadha means donkey or ass. So calling someone a donkey or son of an ass when they were being particularly stupid or stubborn was a common one, too.

A common English phrase used is probably Don’t beat about the bush, because, as you know I do like a chat, and can go round and round before I ever get to the point!

The Burning Question by @Linda_Regan #BlogTour #NewRelease @fmcmassociates

I am thrilled to be a part of the blog tour for the new release by prolific crime writer, Linda Regan!

Here’s the blurb!

DCI Paul Banham and DI Alison Grainger are back. This time they’re investigating the tragic death of a young woman, burnt in her home. When another identical arson attack is reported, Grainger and Banham are on the hunt for a link, unaware that the new trainee DC, Hannah Kemp, already knows the connection.
She also knows that if she comes forward with the information, her own past will come to light, and she’ll potentially lose her job. But, if she doesn’t, more women will lose their lives.
Hannah knows who they are, and she knows their attacker will stop at nothing to keep his ring of illegal prostitutes earning. Once he realises Hannah is now a police detective, she, too, will be in mortal danger.
As the clock ticks against her own life, she must decide whether to stay quiet for the sake of her career, or risk everything she’s worked for to stop a ruthless killer once and for all.
With masterful suspense, Regan reunites readers with her beloved characters DCI Banham and DI Alison Grainger, and delivers one of her most chilling cases yet…

Now, as you will be aware, I am not often one to read crime thrillers, but I do dip in and out, and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed The Burning Question, enough to make me want to backtrack and read previous books!

The Burning Question: A compulsive British detective crime thriller by Linda Regan

Crime fiction is not something I often choose to read, but when I have, I’m pleasantly surprised that I enjoyed it.
Despite not having read previous books in the series, I was able to get straight into the story of a team of detectives, assigned to investigate a death, which becomes a murder case, that then morphs into a possible serial arson case.
Entwined within the story, we find that one of the newer members of the MIT has murky background secrets which could tie in with the investigation.
I was gripped, I must say. The storyline was good, and I loved that there was a bit of romance and a human touch to what could have ended up being just another story set in a police station.

About the Author

Linda Regan is the prolific writer of eight crime novels, as well as a celebrated
actress on stage and screen. After winning a worldwide writing competition
with her novel Behind You! (2006), Linda published seven more novels,
including Passion Killers (2007) which was selected as a Sunday Observer pick
of the year. Since then, she has written the immensely popular DI Johnson
series (2015) and the DCI Banham series (2019).
In addition to her writing, Linda is a much-loved actress, known for her
recurring role in the hit BBC sitcom Hi-De-Hi, and guest appearances in popular
shows The Bill, Birds of a Feather, Doctors, and Holby City. Before joining the cast of Hi-De-Hi, Linda started out in a comedy dance troupe in her youth before going on to a lead role in the West End production of Tom Stoppard’s Dirty Linen. Playing such vivid and iconic characters throughout her career
has helped Linda to develop character-focused stories that bring a uniquely immersive filmic quality to the page.
In addition to her acting, Linda uses her personal experiences to write her signature brand of “strong crime”. All of Linda’s novels are set in South London, where Linda writes with meticulous knowledge of the landscape where she grew up and currently lives with her husband, actor Brian Murphy.

One-Liner Wednesday – Teens

“Parenting teens is extremely trying… have you tried?”

Ritu Bhathal

For Linda’s #1LinerWeds

Spidey’s Serene Sunday – Part 373 – Frustration

img_00411

“A sense of humour is God’s antidote for anger and frustration.” 

Rick Warren

Oh, Spidey, I tell you what. If I didn’t have a sense of humour, I probably would have had an Asda induced breakdown yesterday! Peeps, are you settled for a LONG retelling of my date with disaster, also called Asda’s Online Grocery shopping? Get comfortable. Honestly, I wish I could have written as many words on my WIP as I just have for this retelling!

I am glad I didn’t rush to write my post late last night because it would have been filled with negativity if I had.

Yesterday, I had my morning planned with precision, since the cricket season is upon us, and we live in the back of beyond, nowadays.

I usually receive my Asda grocery delivery on a Saturday morning, so, in order to accommodate the regular matches, too, I opted for an earlier slot of 7-9am for the delivery. This would give me a chance to unpack the items and see if I missed anything important, which I could then pick up from the Sainsburys right next to the cricket pitch.

That gave me at least an hour before we had to leave for cricket.

Obviously, I was up with the larks because a) I am always paranoid that I will miss someone ringing the bell, so I needed to ensure the gate was open, and b) because Sonu Singh kindly spent half an hour musically miaowing in my face, as he was hungry.

It was too early to do anything else on my list for the day, since if I cleaned our ensuite bathroom, and showered, I would be too noisy, and would wake Hubby Dearest, and the same would go for any hoovering and mopping.

I settled down with my book, and read and snoozed, intermittently checking my phone for an update from Asda, who usually message to say when things are on their way, and what might not have been available. That arrived, so I lay back, confident in the knowledge that they were on their way, and I also know what was on my secondary shopping list, with items that were unavailable. (Only two, so that was a good thing!)

It hit 8.30 and nothing had arrived, but that isn’t unusual, in itself. They could be a little late, but that was okay, I had it covered. Lil Man was up and getting prepared. I also had a trip planned to a lovely fresh butcher’s stall, which is set up on a Saturday morning, to pick up some meat for a barbeque we were having on Sunday, so we arranged to leave a little earlier so I could swing by, as things get sold out quickly, there.

Once it hit 9am, and nothing had come, I started to panic a little, as I still hadn’t showered, because I didn’t want to miss the doorbell, and it would be Sods Law that as soon as I stepped into the shower and lathered up my hair, they would turn up. (Yes, I know Lil Man was there, but as a minor still, they wouldn’t have released the shopping to him, and Hubby Dearest was still asleep, and it’s like waking the dead with him on a weekend!)

So, I called them up, and was put on hold, then cut off.

It was nearing 10am now, and I had hoped to leave at 9.45am. I was flustering now. Hubby Dearest woke up and told me not to worry, that he would sort things out, and I could get ready to go.

So, I rushed and showered (cleaning the bathroom at the same time!) and called Asda again as we left. This time the lady said she would call the store and see what was happening and call me back, as the tracking system was down.

I managed to get the barbeque seasoning I needed, but not the specific meat we wanted from the stall, but no bother, as I still had my scheduled trip to the other supermarket to pick up the bits I knew weren’t coming in the Asda shop.

I kept my phone in my hand as I quickly whizzed around Sainsburys, before dropping my son off. As I packed the shopping in the car, my phone showed a missed call, despite it not ringing! Typical!

So, I called Asda back (The third time). This time the lady had a look at the notes and called the store while I was on hold, to find out what was going on. Fifteen minutes in, the call got cut off. I was more than a little frustrated now, as I had reached home. It was nearly 11am, and the delivery was now two hours late.

Fourth call to complain to Asda. The next lady said it was unlikely this delivery would happen, but she could rearrange it for later in the day, between 4-6pm. Not convenient, but fine. So, we went through the rigmarole of reordering, and I noticed a voicemail on my phone once I cut the call.

This was lady two getting back to me to say the shopping should be there by 12pm. Gah!

I called back (fifth time, now!) to confirm that the first order had been cancelled and it was just the second that I would receive. This was confirmed so I finally sat back for a moment to calm down because by now I wasn’t just a little miffed, I was extremely frustrated and annoyed.

The afternoon went by, and I pottered around, doing little jobs, getting updates from Hubby Dearest on the cricket match, and trying not to think of Asda and how I could have just gone and done my whole shop in Sainsbury’s earlier this morning instead of having to wait around. (Hindsight is a great thing.)

At 4pm I checked the order status which should be showing out for delivery, and it still said packing…

At nearly 5 pm it hadn’t changed, so I made call six to Asda and was told by this operative that because I placed this order today, it was past the cut-off, so I probably wouldn’t get it. To say I was fuming, was putting it lightly! I was even in tears by now, not able to word my frustration, and I assured the woman I wasn’t angry at her, but the whole system sucked, and that I hadn’t placed my order late, they had, as it was a replacement for their cock up earlier, and that they had messed up, TWICE, now! She told me to talk to the store. I said no, you talk to the store, they never answer to customers and are quite rude, but that I needed the delivery, now ASAP. So, off she went, leaving me on hold, to find out what was happening.

Fifteen minutes later, guess what happened? They cut me off!

Now we were at call seven. I was almost a blubbering mess as I explained, for the seventh time (why are their notes not updated!) that I had been messed around a lot. It was also nearing 6pm now. The lady was very sympathetic and as we were talking, an email popped in my inbox to say the order was on its way, but that half of the items were now unavailable, and most of the swaps were unacceptable. I told her what I had received and that this morning, had I received the order correctly, I would have had pretty much everything I needed. I just wanted to cancel it. I was totally incensed by now.

Oh, and she also said that they should have my original morning delivery, still packed in their warehouse, and maybe she could get them to find that and send it out instead, as it would have the items I requested. I politely refused because there was fridge and freezer stuff in there, and goodness knows how it had been stored during the twelve hours it had been picked and packed! I know they have refrigerated areas, but still, you can’t be too sure. No thanks, Asda!

She reassured me she would cancel it and was very apologetic. I also told her (politely I promise) that a £5 gesture of compensation would no way cut it. The stress of the day and having to call them so many times had driven me to distraction, and I was now going to have to go out, AGAIN, to do a whole food shop, which I could have done earlier that morning, had I known what a balls up they were going to make of my day!

By now, Hubby Dearest and Lil Man had arrived back (victorious, as they won the match and he got 2 wickets, and a maiden over, too!) Hubby could see I was almost shaking in frustration. He offered to go to the shops with me.

Lil Princess was in a good mood and wanted to get out, so in the end, we both went to Sainsbury’s (again), and as I got there, a message popped up (it was past 6pm, now) to say my Asda shop (which had been cancelled) would be there by 4.30pm! What? And a text to tell me the driver Jerome would be there in three stops. Whatever. I told Hubby Dearest to refuse the delivery if they turned up and we went off to shop.

Dubious that we would get everything we needed so late in the day, we whizzed around Sainsbury’s and miraculously managed to get everything we needed.

I arrived back home and unpacked the shopping when I heard laughs from the living room. (Here’s where my sense of humour finally came into play!) “Ritu,” Hubby Deaerest called out, “Guess who’s turned up? The Asda delivery!”

Now, I am fully aware it wasn’t the driver’s fault, but Asda, seriously?

The guy started carting the baskets of food to us, but I stopped him. Hubby said why not take it, and they can give it for free. (Hasty explanation that they have already taken payment for this, but we don’t want it, and they would refund, plus we had already done our shopping and I did not want everything in duplicate!)

The driver was apologetic and said he had been waiting over an hour at the store for the deliveries he needed to make to be packed as they were running late as the store was short-staffed. All this meant that he was running late for everything, himself. He took the stuff and went on his way.

Another hour later, I got an email to say sorry, we have had to cancel your order. Erm, no, you haven’t. I cancelled it!

Oh, and the one from 7-9am? That is still showing up as out for delivery!

Fast forward to this morning.

I checked the site, and one was ‘cancelled’ and one phantom order (the morning one) was still ‘out for delivery’. Asda has taken around £200 from my account and not begun the refund process.

I called, again.

Just to ask that this other order be cancelled and to reiterate that I either needed to speak to someone or was expecting some sort of compensation for the awful inconvenience and stress that I was caused by Asda’s incompetence, yesterday. The guy has requested everything and apologised profusely.

Through all this, I have to say that the Asda customer service phone operatives were all so polite and helpful, despite cutting me off three times, which I am sure was more about their system than them doing it on purpose (I am trying to give them the benefit of the doubt, here!) It’s a shame that the ones who answer the phones in-store are so rude… that’s if they ever actually answer the phones!

Right, rant over, I promise!

I’m just hoping the weather gets better now, and our planned barbeque happens!

So, have you had frustrating days like the above? How did you handle it?

namaste

Wishing you a wonderfully peaceful Sunday, Peeps!

Previous Older Entries Next Newer Entries

My interactive peeps!

  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar
  • Unknown's avatar